Dyno-Rod T20 Finals Day 2014

A great day was had at Beckenham CC on Sunday 14th September with Beckenham CC winning the Dyno-rod T20 finals.

The day started fairly early at 09:30 hours with Bromley’s match against Old Wilsonians’. Bromley beat last year’s winners fairly easily with OWs failing to reach their target of 135 by 20 runs.

Beckenham v Bromley Common’s game was up next and on winning the toss, Beckenham skipper, Darren Baker, put Bromley Common in, and their batsmen racked up 189 runs. Beckenham tried to chase the mammoth total but fell short, finishing on 168.

Unfortunately it came to light that Bromley Common had fielded an eligible player (Premiership and Division 1 KCL clubs are not allowed to field 1st XI players). Beckenham duly lodged a complaint to the umpires, which was upheld and it was therefore Beckenham CC v Bromley CC to meet in the Final.

Bromley batted first and posted a respectable 130. Beckenham then stepped up to the mark and knocked off the runs in a mere 13.3 overs.

Man of the match was awarded to James Maguire for his 4 wickets, narrowly pipping Sumit Jain’s quick-fire 58 runs.

Very many thanks to Bromley District Cricket and Chris Whitaker for organising the competition, to Richard Read and sponsors Dyno-Rod for laying on a splendid Finals Day. Players and supporters appreciated the food, bouncy castle, the music every time the ball reached the boundary or a wicket was taken.

Thanks must also be given to Sam Griffin from CricHQ for scoring all the matches, to Chris Whitaker and Malcolm Austin for umpiring all 3 games and to Beckenham CC for hosting Finals Day.